Running a package

A package can be run on the selected agents, or on all available agents allowed by the package’s definition

An agent is available when is not offline and is not disabled. In case an agent runs another package is still seen as an available one. Each agent keeps internally a  queue(FIFO) with the requests packages to run. This requests can be canceled at any time by the initiator, but for now, there is no way to reorder the packages that are waiting in the queue on an agent.

When a package runs on multiple agents, Korredo will create a list of tests from all configured assemblies and this list is split evenly across that agents.

In a first step, Korredo will copy all configured source folders for a package to its internal package folder. Then an archive is created and sent in parallel to all selected agents.

As soon as an agent received the ZIP file, the unzipping process starts. Then, the agent will execute all configured steps and will send back to the initiator machine the output for each step.

The latest output from an agent can be accessed via the contextual menu on agent level (View Output) or clicking on the Status.

In case a step is a Nunit or VS Test console runner, then the user can see the results in real time by accessing the Results link from agents or package level. The package Results link shows the results cumulated from all agents.

On agent level, the user can click on the Step column to see the table of steps with their exit code. Each row in this table will have a specific color based on the exit code: Green=an exit code 0, Red=an exit code different than 0, and gray it means that a step was not executed yet.

Note: the window opened by this menu is not automatically refreshed. You must reopen it to see the latest results.

The View logs link shows the output for that step and is available only when the package execution is finished.

A package can be stopped at any time by clicking the STOP link from package level.

Note: this issues a STOP command and depends on the current activity when the package will be actually stopped.

Package menu options

  1. Edit
    1. Edits the selected package(this option can be accessed also by double clicking the package row)
  2. Run again only failed tests:
    • In case the current package tests have failed tests, then Korredo will run again the package but only with failed tests. It will run on the previously selected agents, but only on the ones that have failing tests.
  3. Run again only not run tests:
    • In case the current package tests have not run tests, then Korredo will run again the package but only with not run tests. It will run on the previously selected agents, but only on the ones that have failing tests. A test can be in the ‘not run’ state when the user stopped a package before running all tests.
  4. Run again only failed and not run tests:
    • In case the current package tests have failed tests or not run tests, then Korredo will run again the package but only with failed and not run tests. It will run on the previously selected agents, but only on the ones that have failing tests.
  5. Copy to clipboard failed tests
    1. Copies to clipboard the failed tests in the fully qualified namespace
  6. Copy to clipboard not run tests
    1. Copies to clipboard the not tests in the fully qualified namespace
  7. Copy to clipboard not run tests
    1. Copies to clipboard the failed and not tests in the fully qualified namespace
  8. Create new package with failed tests
    1. Creates a new package by copying the definition from the current one. But only the failing tests are assigned to this package. For an easy package management, it is recommended to always run failing tests from a package in this way.
  9. Create new package with not run tests
    1. Creates a new package by copying the definition from the current one with not run tests only.
  10. Create new package with failed not run tests
    1. Creates a new package by copying the definition from the current one with failed and not run tests only.
  11. Create new package with same tests(copy)
    1. Copies the entire package into a new one with the same naming by adding (All) at the end.
  12. Save as template
    1. Creates a new entry in the folder configured for Shared templates path. In case the file already exists, it will be overwritten. To delete a template, the user needs to manually delete the file from disk. Other GUI applications will see the new template only if the user clears the cache or reopens the application.

Leave a Reply